Legacy Society

Many of our members feel so strongly about the future of WHRO that they’ve included the station in their will, trust, life insurance, retirement, or other estate plan. We’re honored to include these generous members in the WHRO Legacy Society.

Consider joining the community of people who want public television and radio to span generations by including WHRO in your will. For more information call Dory Morrison at (757) 889-9477 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .


Anonymous (19)
Bill and Happy Anderson
Tom Ammons
Wendell Applegate
Bettis Bailey
Dr. Rebecca E. Barchas and John Gehrs
James P. Barton, Ph.D. & Mary M. Cottrell, Ph.D.
Mary Alice Beale
Christina Birdsong
Muriel Bonney
Ed and Linda Bradley
Jon Brage
David Brashear
Regina and Samuel Brayboy
Joe T. Brinkley, Jr.
Cornell Burcher
Lynn Cobb and Warren Richard
Mr. and Mrs. I.V. Cohen
Arthur L. and Paula C. Collins
Mr. Lorenz Connelly, Jr.
Elaine Cooper
Joe and Janet Covington
Dorothy Croslin
Robert Cross
Cynthia Cutler and Craig Haines
Cecelia Dawe-Gillis
Ann and Gale Day
Dr. Carl R. Dolmetsch
Rodney Earle
Billie Paxton Einselen
Debbie Eliason
Dr. David Fitch
Ms. Vivian F. Forman
Dr. and Mrs. Harry M. Frieden
Stanley Furman
Jan Gates
Priscilla L. Guthrie
John Heimerl
Rosemary Heth
Joe and Berna Heyman
Buzy Hofheimer
Paula Hougen
Bernard Jaffe
David Johnson
Mr. and Mrs. Joel Jason
Eleanor Kanter
Kirkland Molloy Kelley
David M. Kennedy, Jr.
Barbara A. Kerr
Michael Kurkowski
Edward and Anne Kramer
Victoria LaBombarde
Debbie Leger
Rosalind Vera Leitman
Ernest and Etta Lendman
Dr. Ed and Linda Lilly
Robert and Jean Major
Eleanor Marshall
Patrick B. McDermott
Melissa McLeod
Carole A. Meola
Tom and Alice Mountjoy
Edward and Gayle Nichols
Susan and Johnny Norman
Thomas Northrop
Drs. James and Carol Nottingham
Alex and Libbey Oliver
Frances Olsen
Rose Patterson
Margaret Perdue
Barry Pollara
Charles Rafkind
Robert Ramsdell and George Moore
Mr. Henry L. Rankin
Alan M. Rohanna
Dr. Robert M. Rubin
Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Schaefer, Jr.
Gary and Barbara Schechter
Steven and Ruina Senkovich
Carol W. Sherman
Dr. William "Si" Simonson
Margaret Stillman
Samuel G. Strickland
Dr. Keith Sutton and Dr. Gail Beyer
Bill A. Tew
Dr. Elaine M. Themo
Mary Jane Thornton
Robert and Linda Turner
Barbara Walters
Sam and Jane Webster
Frank Wheless
Marsha Lynn Wilkins
Evangeline Yoder
Elizabeth Young




Switched on Safety

May is Electrical Safety Month

To celebrate, Dominion Virginia Power and WHRO have teamed up
to bring you Switched on Safety.

May 31st at the
Virginia Aquarium in Virginia Beach
10 AM to 3 PM


June 1st at the
Virginia Living Museum in Hampton
1 PM to 5 PM


Free and Open to the Public
Teach your children how to be safe around electricity
Fun, Family Friendly activities
Live safety demonstrations by Dominion Power
Giveaways and Prizes
Held rain or shine 

For more information call Reese Beeler at 889-9347 or email her at  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.